4.18.2011

There is nothing I can do…

For the past few weeks I have been meditating on the idea that there is nothing I can do to earn the love of God. He did everything. All we basically have to do is believe it and declare it. Essentially turn toward the Truth and allow ourselves to live in the Truth. (The Truth being that we, on our own, are not perfect, that perfection lies in knowing God, and that the only way to know God is through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.)

But, how do we do that?

Ps. 51:16-17
16 For You do not delight in sacrifice, otherwise I would give it;
You are not pleased with burnt offering.
17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
A broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.

In Bible Study tonite, someone shared the verse above. God does not want an artificial sacrifice. It’s not like we do something to earn His pleasure. It’s simply by being broken enough to say “Yes, I need Him.”

This has been playing over and over in my life recently. While there is something I can do in terms of work, or I can change my relationship by expressing love, sometimes there’s nothing I can do about the outcomes. Sometimes we have no control over our circumstances, like if one got into a car accident or if a loved one is sick or choosing to go down a destructive path. Once again, one has to say “There is nothing I can do or could have done…” I think the best word to describe this type of statement would be admittance. You have to admit that there’s nothing you can do. Your pride must be broken enough for you to say it. That it’s beyond your control.

And that’s really where the beauty lies in our Lord. There is nothing we could do to earn His love, we just have it, and we can grasp it and allow it to change us, no matter what storm blows our way. Knowing that God gives His love freely changes my heart. Despite of the wrongs I do, God still loves me. So, despite the wrongs that are done me, whether intentional or not, I can still love (or in certain cases, do the right thing, which I guess is essentially “loving”). Even though my circumstances may suck, I can still love, because God gives to me. 1 John 4:19 is exactly that, “We love, because He first loved us.”

I’m not sure I really realized it before now.

In addition to this, I think that God’s timing is impeccable on the matter. It’s the start of Holy Week for 2011 and Jesus is telling me this now, on the precipice of celebrating the event that changed my life: the death and resurrection of Christ. I’m excited for the Truth that He will continue to reveal to me this week, as I celebrate Him. If it follows from this, it’s going to be good.

This entry was posted in Life, Promises, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

